Tortilla-less Soup

553240_397143237109463_2891021490566106503_n

One of my MOST favorite soups in the entire world is Tortilla soup.  Seriously, I could eat it daily for many days in a row; it is a beautiful creation, thank you to the human being that threw those items together and called it a meal!  I took a stab at my own version last night, and to my shock, I was successful at least to me and my crew.

Here is what I did, I pulled out a big pot, the biggest one I had.  I was thinking go big or go home!

I put all these ingredients into this big’ol stock pot and cranked up the heat to get it going, I was HUNGRY and didn’t want to waste any time!

  • 1 Rotisserie chicken shredded
  • 10 (ish) tablespoons of Chicken, Better than Bouillon
  • 1 bag of frozen corn
  • 1 bag of frozen stew veggies
  • 1 tablespoon Fajita Seasoning (I only use one brand when it comes to Mexican spices and that is, Fiesta)
  • 3 (ish) tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 Cabbage sliced into bit size pieces
  • 1 can Hatch brand tomatoes and chilies (you can use Rotel, I prefer the Hatch brand)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh minced garlic
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 can strewed tomatoes
  • 1 small can tomato sauce – I only used half (you could also sub paste)
  • lots of water – to fill pot
  • salt and pepper to taste (I prefer the course ground pepper with extra bite) CHOMP!

I cooked that for about an thirty minutes to let the seasonings to do their thing, then I tasted it and adjusted based on what we like.   When I served it, I set cheddar cheese, avocado, and Tabasco sauce out for spicing up your individual bowl.  My daughter doesn’t like to fry her taste buds just yet, we are working to develop those Texan taste buds.

10805591_397115190445601_7283023091996603832_n 10516640_397115170445603_6894739660803479407_n

This is the type of fun you can have while playing with your Cabbage and making your very own Cabbage Patch Kid!

Leave a Reply

